Elsie M. Hood Outstanding Teacher Award

Sponsored by: The family of Elsie M. Hood, the Alumni Association, and the Chancellor's Office

Nominations due: March 1st

Eligibility: Assistant, associate, and full professors, except for previous recipients.

Selection Criteria: Nominations may be submitted by faculty, students, and alumni to the Chancellor's Office. The selection committee is comprised of eight previous recipients, along with the director of Alumni Affairs and a student representative. Criteria include nominating letters that describe examples of exceptional teaching and letters that have been submitted for the nominees in previous years.

Recognition: In addition to the monetary prize of $5,000, the recipient receives a personal plaque and his or her name is engraved on a permanent plaque in the chancellor's office.

About the Award: In 1965, the Faculty Senate of the University of Mississippi proposed to Chancellor J. D. Williams a program of recognition and awards for superior teaching. The Chancellor agreed, and a selection committee of faculty representing the various Schools and Colleges was elected by the University faculty in the fall of 1965. In the spring of 1966, the committee solicited nominations for an Outstanding Teacher Award from faculty, students, and alumni, requesting from nominators "a supporting statement not to exceed 500 words." Vice Chancellor W. Alton Bryant suggested that the award be presented on Honors Days and announced during Commencement exercises, and this has remained the policy to this day.

Past and Current Recipients:

  • 2005 W. Mark Wilder - Accounting
  • 2006 Laurdella Foulkes-Levy - Music
  • 2007 David E. Willson - Music
  • 2008 Gregory A. Schirmer - English
  • 2009 John R. Neff - History
  • 2010 Kelly G. Wilson - Psychology
  • 2011 Ethel Young-Minor - English
  • 2012 John O'Haver - Chemical Engineering
  • 2013 William Berry - Law Center
  • 2014 Ann Fisher-Wirth - English
  • 2015 Bob Brown - Political Science

Website Address: www.olemiss.edu/news/hood_award/recipients.html


View more awards...