skip to main content

Liberal Arts Outstanding Instructor of the Year

Sponsored by: The College of Liberal Arts

Nominations due: April 9th

Eligibility: Instructional faculty (not tenure-track faculty), including instructors, lecturers, senior lecturers, and instructional professors who taught full time during the academic year they are nominated. Visiting instructors as well as previous recipients are not eligible.

Selection Criteria: Nomination may be submitted to the Office of the Dean, the College of Liberal Arts. Criteria include, but are not limited to, excellence of class instruction, intellectual stimulation of students, and concern for students’ welfare.

Recognition:: The recipient will be recognized during the College’s commencement ceremony, has his or her name added to award plaques in the Dean’s office, and receives $1,000.

About the Award: In 2011, the College of Liberal Arts began recognizing the Liberal Arts Outstanding Instructor of the Year.


Past and Current Recipients:

  • 2011 Katherine Fields – Art
  • 2012 Ivonne Whitehead – Modern Languages
  • 2013 Michael Raines – Modern Languages
  • 2014 Joan Hall – English
  • 2015 Karen Forgette – Writing and Rhetoric
  • 2016 Matthew L. Murray – Sociology & Anthropology
  • 2017 Carey Bernini Dowling – Psychology
  • 2018 Irene Kaufmann – Modern Languages
  • 2019 Gerald Rowland – Chemistry & Biochemistry
  • 2020 Guy Krueger – Writing and Rhetoric
  • 2021 Mervin Matthew – Psychology

Website Address: